Martha remains in bestseller list

19 Nov

Ma, I’m Gettin Meself a New Mammy, remains in the Irish top ten. Martha is flanked by Barack Obama and Paul O’Grady, so is in good company!

5 Responses to “Martha remains in bestseller list”

  1. michelle costigan January 26, 2009 at 1:08 pm #

    Once again an absoulute fantastic book could not put it down. Iartha tells her story so well you find your mind drifts inside the convent walls and feel her exsistence of loneliness and pain and yet I found myself laugh aloud at her great humour and the way she would wait and get those you tried to put her down and beat them at their own game. Her courage and strength at what life threw at her and her great fate in God is something we could all learn from. I never looked a film or read a book and taught i would love to meet that person that is until the day I picked up Martha Long’s first book and i am left wanting that even more now. God bless you Martha. x

  2. Bee February 26, 2009 at 7:10 pm #

    I have madea comment on my blogger but I will add that I have read both books and I thoroughly enjotyed them. I got emotional in books. In the first book I just wanted to care for Martha and get her out of her disruptive unpbringing. In the second book, we got a glimpse of another side to Martha. She can be horrid and mean as we have seen but she can also be nice. I loved the books Martha. Keep them coming.

  3. Theresa King March 14, 2009 at 8:53 am #

    Martha,

    I thoroughly enjoyed your book. I also felt that I would love to have protected you from your unfortunate upbringing. How anyone could treat you that way is beyond imagination. Most peoples pets are treated better than you were. To have come out of the abuse and be a respectable human being is a credit to yourself. Everyone needs love and you and your poor brother were certainly deprived of that.

    Your writing is fantastic, your story sad, but at the same time an eye opener to the sordid, horrible way some poor children have to endure their childhood. I hope your adult life is nothing but beautiful, because that is what you deserve. I also hope your little brother has found some happiness. As for Jackster, may he rot in hell, along with your mother for turning her back on the way he treated you and the other gross men (if that is what they can be called). Hopefully, what goes around comes around for these monsters.

    I will read every book you write. Good luck for the rest of your life, you deserve good fortune.

  4. Kayla April 8, 2009 at 5:20 am #

    Martha i absolutely loved your book, i am so sorry for the way you got bought up it made me so sad, I hope everything is well for you now and you can live happily the way you always wanted to because thats what you deserve. As for jackster i hope he rots in hell and your mother to for letting all of those men doing horrible things to you and not careing for you. Thanks for this amazing and inspirational book good luck for the future

  5. Lynda Meredith December 14, 2009 at 1:12 pm #

    I will never ever complain again and when I feel life is being unfair I’ll remember you and the terrible suffering you endured at the hands of the adults who had a duty of care…especially your Mother…thank you Martha for opening my eyes to my own selfishness when I think I’m getting a raw deal…you are an inspiration to all and I wish you everything that is good for the rest of your life…

Leave a Reply

