Martha in bestseller lists with second book

1 Oct

Martha Long’s second book, Ma, I’m Gettin Meself a New Mammy has just gone to No.1 in the Irish non-fiction bestseller lists. Her first book, Ma, He Sold Me For a Few Cigarettes has climbed back upto No. 7. Brilliant news for Martha!

7 Responses to “Martha in bestseller lists with second book”

  1. Sue Schesser October 6, 2008 at 2:07 am #

    Thank you Martha for your second book, have just finished reading it here in Australia…want to thank you for sharing your life experiences with us, and you are truly an inspiration in life. Your book was wonderful, I laughed like crazy at your thoughts with those nuns, your determination to make something of your life and be someone, the compassion you showed the smaller kids, the love you felt for your sisters and brothers, and lastly the tears I felt when you turned 16, and a new door opened and you were able to leave all behind you. A brilliant book, both of them… priceless.
    Thank you

  2. Lillian October 13, 2008 at 11:55 am #

    Dear Martha,

    I had finished reading the book 2 days after it became available. I was harrassing the poor guy behind the counter – bacause he was too lazy to go and look for your book, which was clearly received and stored in the back room somewhere! I ended up going to another book shop to get my hands on it!

    I loved the second book – as much as I did the first. I was very pleased to find out the bandy aul bastard Jackser didn’t lay his hands on you again!

    It is quite amazing to see how many people just simply want to find out more about what had happened to you later on in your life, your family’s lives and how everything ends up.

    All the best Martha. I hope life treats you kind.

  3. Emma, Tipperary October 21, 2008 at 7:40 pm #

    Hi Martha,

    I have just finished your second book and I must say that your books are the best I have read and the most inspirational books I own.I am 21 years old and I work as a special needs assistant in a secondary school,and work with students who come from broken homes or who are in care. You give me an insight to what a victim of abuse especially a child truly feels,what they may go through in their life and how they cope.
    It has also thought me how to be a good friend to these kids,respect them and be there for them when needed.
    I am looking forward to your 3rd book and I wish you all the best.

    Thank you xXx

  4. denise byrne October 24, 2008 at 7:29 pm #

    i have just finished ma he sold me for a few cigrates, it was great i am from dublin and i have passed it on to my ma and my in laws who come from the north side, i can’t wait to read the next one, i come from the southside and my mum used to live in bow lane like you and she said it brought back memroies.

  5. Kirsty November 12, 2008 at 6:56 am #

    I just read you first book and i am about to start on the second, i could never count the number of times i cried or just wanted to jump through the pages and make everything ok. you book touched me in ways that i could never imagine words on a page could do to someone. i hope you write a third because i want to know everything…

    You are a truely inspiring women who if i could be a tenth of what you are i would never stop smiling. Im 16 and no one has influenced me as much as you and your books. i have to wait until friday to read your 2nd book because i have exams and mum hid it so i wont get addicted like i did with the last one. haha. i hope all your dreams came true because their is no one more desirving…

    Thank you from the bottom of my heart, i will never forget your story.

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  6. Leila Lyall April 15, 2009 at 4:49 pm #

    Hi Martha,

    I am an avid reader and especially autobiographies. I came upon your book Ma he sold me for a few cigarettes in my local library 2 weeks ago, and what a book, I could not put it down, I laughed and I cried and you have not been off my mind since I read the book. What an exceptional person you must be today. Ofcourse as soon as the book ended I said I must look up on the internet to see what you are doing now and to my surprise I see you have a second book out. I am from Amanzimtoti in South Africa, so I will be scouring all sources to find your second book, or I will ask my daughter who is in London to find it. Thank you so much for sharing your story – the memory of Martha will be with me always. God Bless you in all that you do. Best wishes Leila Lyall

  7. Leslie Roberts. August 30, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    My dear Martha. I just finished your first book. Ma he sold me for a few cigarettes. You have my admiration. You were a brave and inspirational child.The tears streamed down my face in parts of your story, my throat was in a knot most of your amazing Autobiography. In small places of pleasant bits i roared with laighter at your expressions, You were a born mammy. Even to Sally and the bandy aould basterd Jackser. You never said a truer word when you said you raised Yourself. I was born in Castleknock village and went in to Dublin on a Saturday, with my nanna, We use to see what we called beggars. God Forgive us for we were to quick to judge the horror of drink and violence Suffered by Women ,Children and Babbies. I am going to read the next book as soon as i get it. My admiration to you Martha Long you are an inspirational human beign regards Leslie x

Leave a Reply

