Martha interview in Prima

1 Sep

Buy this month’s issue of Prima Magazine to read a 3 page interview with Martha. It’s on the shelves now! This is to cooincide with the publication of Martha’s new book, MA, I’M GETTING MESELF A NEW MAMMY, published later this month.

54 Responses to “Martha interview in Prima”

  1. Lesley September 16, 2008 at 1:59 pm #

    Currently reading Ma I’m getting meself a new Mammy and it’s every bit as good as the first one. Martha your strength and courage is an inspiration to us all.

  2. Lesley September 16, 2008 at 2:00 pm #

    Currently readin Ma I’m gettin meself a new mammy. Every bit enjoyable as the first book. Martha your courage and strengh is an inspiration to us all.

  3. marilyn maguire September 26, 2008 at 5:58 pm #

    dear martha
    i feel like you are my friend. everynight i’d go to bed with your book (just finished the new one) and i felt i knew you. my mum was irish so brought up with all the same mermories.

    i was 16 in the 60’s and had that void in me as well. i wonder so much what happen to charlie and the rest of them?

    i hope to god you write another book asap you are a marvelous writer martha i wish you could be my friend!

    you much be so happy with yourself that you are making other people happy . i’d love to see a picture of you .

    god bless

    marilyn

  4. Amanda Genua September 28, 2008 at 6:45 am #

    I have just finished reading “Ma I’m gettin meself a new Mammy” it was great but I am still wanting questions answered please tell me there is another book coming?
    What happens to Charlie and the other children? What becomes of your mother and that poor excuse of a man Jackster?
    Please continue writing, your life is an inspiration and if you ever come to Australia for a book signing I will be there.
    I tell people about your books and they ask to borrow them my answer is NO, I go and buy them a copy, your books are to good to read once they are to be kept and re-read.

  5. Sangita September 29, 2008 at 11:27 am #

    Martha,

    I am in complete awe of you, and your brilliant style of writing! I have never read anything so gripping in my whole life, and I thoroughtly enjoyed your first book. I am now half way through the second book, and really am enjoying it!

    Whilst reading through the second book I came to the part where your brothers and sistaers came to the convent, and I truly loved reading about this, as Agnes sounds like she was just such a funny and interesting little girl reminding me so much of you in your first book!I do hope you write another book soon, telling us what happened to little Charlie, and the rest of the lovely children.

    I truly feel I have come to know you so well, and everytime I read another page of your books, I want to read it so slowly as I dont want the book to end! Please keep writing, you are so brilliant! Thank you so much for sharing your experience, and making me thankful for everything I have in my life!

    Bless you

    Sangita

  6. Dorothy September 30, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    After reading you first book I couldn’t wait to read your follow up and now have just finished that [housework went out the window] You are a brilliant writer and I could just see myself in the convent with you. Hopefully in your next book you will let us know what happened to Charlie and the other children, even your Ma & Jackser who, I hope, got his just desserts.
    How you have faired after the treatment you received at their hands is unbelievable and I hold my hat up to you.

  7. smith October 7, 2008 at 5:12 pm #

    Dearest, Martha. Please, Please write a third book! I am dying to know what happened to Jackser and your ma. Especially Charlie and the rest of your siblings. Both your books are amazing. I just couldn’t put them down. I felt so many emotions reading your books. You are truely amazing. I hope maybe in another life we can be friends. Keep well. Good luck to you and your family. lOTS OF LOVE D. SMITH. xo

  8. jennifer October 8, 2008 at 5:28 pm #

    hi martha, i have just read your second book and have to applaud you for your courage ,not only by putting it down on paper but then to let the whole world read your life story.i know how traumatic it is to live through those memorys as i have been through similar circumstances with my mother although i was never put into care.i hope that by basically reliving what you went through it helped you as i know it can really get in on you sometimes and it is better out than in ! i cannot wait to read your next book as it is helping me to face up to my past.and hope to talk to you in the future. god bless jennifer

  9. Michelle October 10, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    Hi Martha, I have just finished your second book, I have to say i didnt realise how emotional i was until i actually read your story at one part i felt physically sick i had to put the book down how you survived such cruelty I will never understand. The strenght you have is unbelievable and your great sense or humor and survival you showed throughout the book is amazing I can’t wait to find out if theres another book please keep writing as you are the best author i have ever read and i would love to no what happened to you when you left the convent and charlie and the rest of the family.

    Take care god bless

    Michelle

  10. Jules October 24, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    Have read the first book and getting the new one tomorrow and cant wait! Really want to know more about what happens to you, and the rest of the family.

    It would be great if, like in some similar books Ive read, if you could provide some photos? new or old..were dying to put a face to the name..maybe in a third book 😉

    God Bless and thankyou

  11. Siobhan Phillips October 31, 2008 at 1:08 am #

    Martha,

    You are an amazing person. I’ve just read you book “mammy sold me for a few cigrettes” Holy god, it was so so said. I’m currently reading your second book and can’t put it down for the life of me. Your pain touched me. I can’t stop thinking about all the horrible experiences that you went through, the abuse, the pressure, the hunger, living conditions…. I live about 5mins from Balbriggan. I know the sunshine house…. God, my ma was your age at that time, and I wish she could have taken you away from the evil that you endured at that time if she had met you. I’ve never been so touched by a story in my whole life. I’d love to know more about you and what happened to poor Charlie. Your heart must have been ripped out of your chest having to leave him behind, along with all your other siblings. Is your ma and jackster still alive? Do you have contact with them? All this questions, we are all dying to know. Please, please continue to write. It certainly has made me understand and appreciate what I have today.

    Martha, God bless you and the courage you had to share you life with us. If I had one wish in the world I would turn back the clock and made you a happy home.

    Yours sincerely,
    Siobhan Martha Phillips

  12. kay agnew November 7, 2008 at 1:05 am #

    martha i have just read both your books you are one of the most courageus people i have ever heard of how you survived i will never know thankyou for sharing your story with us i too would like to know what happened to charlie and the others i hope they are all safe and well i look forward to your next book keep well and safe

  13. kate sharkey, Liverpool November 7, 2008 at 7:15 pm #

    Dear martha, iv just finished your first book, i have never read anything like it in my life, i hope to god that, that bandy fuker jakser looses his legs an wears his balls for earrings, i hope you have found happiness in your life and what has happend to your ma and charlie and your other brothers and sisters, you have got to write another, i will be reading the next one as soon as i get my hands on it. God bless you martha always x

  14. kmk November 10, 2008 at 10:06 pm #

    Martha – i have just finished your second book – which i could not put down. i admire you and your strength throughtout your life till you were 16 and cannot wait to read your next book detailing the next chapter in your life and the lives of your brothers and sisters. PLEASE WRITE ONE! I do hope your mother found peace eventually and i hope that jackser rots in hell. You are an inspiration to us all and really put our lives in perspective with your courage and attitude towards the life you had, many would not have survived what you have. Wishing you all the happiness i can give you – god bless and take care xxx

  15. Shona November 15, 2008 at 1:21 am #

    Love your books Martha. You are a true inspiration! I hope you write more so that I can find out how you grow up into a wonderful adult with a caring family of your own.

    Does anyone know where I can get a copy of the Prima Interview which Martha gave back in Sep 08. I cant find it anywhere on the internet and would really like to read it. Thanks

    Shona

  16. Deb Dowd January 1, 2009 at 5:39 am #

    Hi Martha,

    I’m half way through your first book & it is taking me some time reading it because I have to keep putting it down as it is too painful to read at times.
    You are amazing your strength amazes me, where does it come from?
    I’m glad that you have told your story, it must have been hard to do.

    God Bless you.
    Deb

  17. taruna January 4, 2009 at 9:52 am #

    truly amazing book. I was so touched and brought to tears because I identify with alot of what you have gone through in terms of neglect and emotional abuse. I admire you for your strength and courage.

  18. taruna January 4, 2009 at 9:53 am #

    wish i can meet you someday

  19. Shona January 11, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    Hi Martha

    I visit this site all the time as I am patiently awaiting the release of your 3rd book, “Ma, Im locked up in a madhouse”.. Please o please can any1 tell me when it is on sale??

    I read ur first 2 books, and held them close to my heart. I was touched by youor story and admire you for telling us all your story after all these years.

    I missed your interview in “Prima” as I wasnt aware of it. Yet again if anyone can tell me where I can find a copy I would be extremely grateful.

    Like others, I also think about Charlie and his story. Did he grow into a wonderful adult like yourself.

    In my thoughts

    Shona

    P.S I love the way u write your books, the wee irish slang, Im from Ireland too!!

    Take Care….

  20. vanessa January 15, 2009 at 1:05 am #

    Hi Martha,

    I just finished reading yoour 1st book, and wow, martha you are full of courage and strenth and i honestly have no idea how you went through it all. I would sit up all night reading through your book and it just brought me to tears! your amazing martha and a true inspiration to me.

    I never ever stop thinkin about your book and i cannot wait to get the 2nd one! I would love to know what happened to the rest of the children and how you are getting on with your life at the moment and your three children aswell.

    maybe in the third one there can be pictures? if you haver any because im dien to know what you look like. your like a hero to me and i admire you so much.

    take care

    vanessa
    xxxxxxxxxx

  21. Aleesha Stinson January 17, 2009 at 8:30 am #

    Dear Martha,
    I am nervous to even write to you. I am about to go into part 2 of your second book.. I’ve only ever read auto-biographies they seem to feel more real. My heart goes out to you as i read every word. Its hard to picture you as a adult. Im so happy you got through your early years.. Im so glad i read your story. I just wish i could give little martha a hug.. I’m so happy you have your own children and the love you so very much deserved. Like everyone else i do wonder what happened to the others. I hope you dont feel like you done anything wrong by anybody because you did more than most would do and want you to know i am proud to have read your books and know your story. I feel priveledged and inspired but most of all i am so grateful for you pouring your heart out to us all.. thankyou very much Marths Long you should be very proud xoxo

    Aleesha xx

  22. michaela January 25, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

    dear martha,
    first off i’d like to say your book and style of writing is one of a kind!!
    i have a very strange interest in stories with the same nature as yours, i’v read quite a few,’dont tell mummy,by toni maguire, childhood interrupted and the story of a young girl growing up in a 1950’s brothel called’stolen’.. although i have to say ,being irish myself i found the colloquial terms you used and the light heartedness and humour even in the saddest parts of your book excellent.
    don’t stop telling your story!! you are an unbelievable person!!
    could anyone tell me when the next book is out??
    x

  23. Karema February 10, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    Martha

    What an inspiration you are!

    I can not imagine what you must have gone through, to be that hungry and cold all the time! And on top of that to suffer the abuse that you did! I just can’t believe that no one would get involved and try to help, thank God times have changed!

    Your book made me laugh and cry, and I found it strange how I suddenly had an irish accent in my head as soon as I picked up your book! Did make me chuckle, and the use of your language made me realise where most of the scouse slang has come from..My mother is from Liverpool, and grandfather was from Cork.

    I do hope you have found peace in your life, and Jackster and your Mother got what was coming to them.

    God bless you and your brothers and sisters.

    I am so pleased there is a sequel to your first book.

    Please give us answers to the questions that are buzzing in our heads!

  24. Annie February 19, 2009 at 12:20 am #

    Hi Martha,

    I read both your books, I actually felt physically ill at how you were treated at home and so angry that nobody stood up for you and Charlie. I thought of him throughout your second book and it made my heart break as you seemed to be the only person looking out for him.. Always wondering how he, and your other siblings, got through those years without you and how you got on after leaving the convent…
    I hope you all eventually found peace and the other fella “died roaring”!!!

    Looking forward to your third book, soon?? And like others I hope you can include some photos.

    Your and inspiration.

    xxx

  25. shyla castro February 23, 2009 at 1:39 pm #

    I really loved this book and as i’ve said on my 1st letter I’m getting the 2nd book today,,,but then while I was reading this blog,,i wasnt aware about the interview in the PRIMA MAGS,,i’m just wondering if anyone can tell me where else will i be able to get it or can I make a backorder?

    shyla

  26. Islah March 8, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    Hi, Martha

    I read both of your books too and found them both sad and touching…may you always have happiness and peace in both domains…i am think of enbarkin on novel writin myself and found ur work inspirational…

    keep it up…

    Bye

  27. Molly sullivan March 14, 2009 at 1:45 am #

    Hello Martha , I do hope you read these posts , because I want you to know how much I admire you . I too have quite a similar past and often wondered how I am still here . I did not grow up in the 50’s but in the 80’s so times didn’t change a whole lot in some regards , cause abusing neglectful animals will always be on the prowl , no matter what year it is ….. I am so comforted by the fact that you are now living a good life , this makes me happy as you at least have some bit of a happy ending and you are better than the way people always made you feel as a child .. you will never know how much reading your books has helped me in dealing with my own past and I have started my own book , maybe someday I will get to meet you , you are my hero. x x x

  28. Nicole March 29, 2009 at 1:33 am #

    I have just finished ‘ma, i’m getting meself a new mammy’ and at the last page found myself wanting to know about the next chapter of your life outside the convent.And how you got to the adult you are now after surviving so far with you true spirit intact.Looking forward to the next book.I will be looking out for it.

  29. Shayne April 4, 2009 at 5:43 am #

    Dear Martha,

    I really feel like i know you!!! To share your experiences the way you have is amazing.

    I really hope you continue to share the rest of the journey with another or a couple more books.

    Amazing.
    Shayne.

  30. Karen May 6, 2009 at 3:56 pm #

    I picked up your first book at dublin airport heading off to the states on holiday, i never put the book down i was reading as we were sight seeing, unbeleivable i cried reading it and couldnt beleive your mother put that drunken bandy git before her kids, god bless little charlie, what ever happened to him. couldnt wait to get your second book and read it in days also, a little bit happier times in the convent compared to live at home, looking forward to your third book and waiting to see what happened after you left the convent, you are amazing to survive that child hood and to become an author, fair play to martha and I wish you every bit of happiness.

  31. Shona May 7, 2009 at 11:03 pm #

    Hi people, I have been searching for information for Martha’s 3rd book and have finally found a release date. Its not until the 03/09/09 (see attached link)

    http://www.randomhouse.co.uk/catalog/author.htm?authorID=56677

    I absolutely cannot wait to find out the next chapter in Martha’s life. I could not put either of the first 2 books down and greatly anticipate the arrival of the 3rd.

    Martha I hope your well and life is treating you gud! Would love to know how many books there are going to be published (ano I havent even read the 3rd yet) as I am so captured by your story and would love to know about Charlie and how you changed your life around.

    Shona

  32. Ali June 23, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    I’m only 13 years old and i’ve never really read books like these, but by chance i ordered this book from The Book People and completely fell in love with it! I only finished it recently but it’s by far the best book i’ve ever read. It really makes you appreciate your life! I think Martha has inspired every reader and i’m definately going to order the next one ‘Ma, Im Getting Myself A New Mammy’ as the first one has been so good. Please write a third one!
    Ali x

  33. dean deburka August 2, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    martha i read the 2 of your books an i feel our lives are so simalar in so many ways im born an rared in an around thomas street with a dameged body and mind but readin your book got me thinkin if you can get out then so can i i always will hold a place in my heart for young martha an only wish i couud give her a big hug and tel her itl b ok i admire you so much and am thinkin to myself i wonder how marthas life worked out for her i hope she has a big warm house a full fridge and all the love you truley deserve. are you goin to wright another book to let us know how you got on ? i hope you get to read this sending all my love from the internet cafe on thomas street dean xx

  34. jill brain August 5, 2009 at 3:57 pm #

    Hi Martha,
    i too have just finished your first book and wanted to know that you are now safe and happy. I was fearing for you while reading your story but after reading everyone elses letter realised you have come through and written more books which i am going to try to get hold of. Heres hoping your life now is a great and happy one xx lots of love jill xx

  35. karen pearce August 15, 2009 at 6:54 pm #

    Hi Martha
    Just want to say I found it hard to put your book down, you are a really amazing person. I have had quiet alot of simlialarities within my childhood. I have read other peoples stories to help heal my own issues. I will read your next book. Its a very lonely place dealing with stuff and having no family to support Lots of love

    Karen xxxxx

  36. mandy August 25, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    martha martha martha,please tell me your surrounded with a v large loving family,i feel iv just got off a horrible rollercoaster an have only read your first boook thanksfor yuor bravery.

  37. Mariana (Australia October 7, 2009 at 2:03 pm #

    I’ve read Martha’s first book and nearly finished the second…
    i have to say i have read one to many stories but this one has honestly touched me the most.
    her way of writing i feel she is talking to me she has honestly touched my heart and has given me so much inspiration that no mater what? you can get through the storm just keep fighting!
    she has made me cry and laugh and i wish i could meet her in person to say to her that she has come along way and im O so very proud of her!
    This little girl she has shared is an amazing fighter and yet so loving but no one showing her love back.
    i just feel her pain of having to go through what she went through at such a young age and have no one to protect her like i have. it made me ever more appreciate having good parents.
    i look forward to reading your 3rd book and i have passed on your stories and sharing with my friends your first book and they too are hooked!!
    i thank you for sharing your stories with us all.. xo
    love all the way from Australia…..

  38. Veronica November 30, 2009 at 3:25 am #

    Hi Martha, I bought your first book a couple of years ago but have only been able to read it in the last few weeks. Having come from a very violent and sexually abusive background myself I find it very difficult at times to read such stories. I kept this book because I knew one day I would be able to read it and respect the child (Martha) for the person she truely is. I now feel that I will be able to read your subsequent books over the coming weeks. I recommend your books to others for far too many reasons to b eable to mention here. But to mention just a few – they are sad, heart rendering stories which are also humourous, clever, educational, historical, philosophical, emotional, dramatic, pragmatic and so much more and beyond. Thank you and keep up the good work. V.

  39. Christine December 11, 2009 at 12:05 pm #

    Well I am a Martha Fan as well!! I actually brought myself a miniature schnauzer and called her Martha. I have a B&B in Australia and EVERYONE loves Martha!! I am part way thru Martha’s third book (Ma, It’s a Cold Aul Night an I’m Lookin for a Bed)- it is just as heart wrenching, funny, thought provoking and inspiring as the previous two. I hope ABC make a mini series. I have never been touched by a book so much. I would love to see a photo or even see a clip of Martha in an interview as well. Thank you Martha XX

  40. onyeka December 17, 2009 at 2:18 am #

    hi,

    i read ur first book 6 months ago n have been longing to know what happened to you afterwards so it was a sweet surprise for me to learn u,ve follow ups to the first one, i will definitely ask my friend to get me the books when she,s coming home for xmas.

    ur story touched me in a way i never knew any thing could and almost all my friends had read ur book.

    ur truly an inspiration to generations of people and inspired them to know u can overcome any dificulty through self determination.

    will never forget you.

    thank you for letting us into ur life

    onyeka anakwe (nigeria)

  41. kylie December 19, 2009 at 11:38 am #

    Hi Martha,

    I have read all your books and am obsessed with you and your life story ! I too suffered sexual and emotional abuse and witnessed my brothers being physically abused daily. Although we survived, it has been a long struggle, something I deal with on a daily basis. I feel close to you and commend you on all you have done for yourself. I have seen so many people give in… You deserve all the good that comes your way. You write how I think !! Can’t wait for your next book !

  42. wendy dalgetty January 7, 2010 at 4:43 am #

    Hi Martha, I have read your three books and was absolutely amazed at your ability to survive the horrendous abuse you recieved. I laughed(especially the washing machine episode)cried and got very angry with your mother and the Jackster. I wonder what happened to Charlie and your other brothers and sisters. I have passed your books onto friends and family who also enjoyed reading them. Congratulations on surving and having the guts to put your life onto paper to encourage all others to overcome diversity.I live in Western Australia but quickly adjusted to the colourful Irish language.

    • Julie Turner April 4, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

      Would you know if Martha if releasing a 4th book, like you ive read all 3 and wish for a 4th, its so intruguing

  43. patricia mcdonnell coarmagh January 7, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

    Martha I sincerely hope your life is now “a bowl of cherries” looking forward to your next book, and hope it brings you to a happier time in your life. Patricia

  44. Emily brooks edt March 25, 2010 at 2:44 am #

    Hi second time of tryin to write this i have to be short. I read ur 1st book an was left wonderin what happened to uall i too had a bad childhood if i can call it that my mum left us at nine an then i too had a nasty stepparent i had to cook an clean an wasn’t let out to play i also got slapped about but i had some refuge when my dad was home from work he didn’t know about her cos i had siblings to think of. I thought i had it tough but mine was nothing compared an i don’t know how you remained sane i hav ocd as i was told nothing was ever clean. I don’t let it affect my girls though they are 11 AN 13 now an they are only now aware that i wash my hands an things too much cos i never did it in front of them. But i used to wear winter clothes in the summer i had nothin else just my black joggers.but you hav humbled me i don’t hav time for self pity but i do wish i could reach in the book an take you out you could’ve shared in wiv my girls an laughed an squabbled wiv them an shared in our weekly stew, an cinema

  45. Julie Turner April 4, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    Dear Martha,

    I have just read all 3 of your fascinating books and couldnt put them down. How you coped God only knows. I wish you great success and health and happiness for your future. I would greatly ask you if you are going to write a 4th book, if so I cant bloody wait.

    Take care

    Julie Turner

  46. Andrea McCleary April 15, 2010 at 12:58 am #

    Hello Martha,I was given your story to read by my mum and like so many couldn’t put it down once I started to read ,I feel as though I have come to know you I couldn’t get you out of my mind I would go to bed and you were the last thought on my mind how i wished I could take you from the pages of the book and love and care for you and cried so many tears and wanted to know more so looked you up and was pleased to see I could find out more about you and can’t wait to read your next book and am going tomorrow to find it Thank you for sharing your story you are such a remarkable woman and wish you were my friend I would love to have you in my life that would be truly wonderful…..look forward to finding out about Charlie and the rest of the children.Wishing you every joy and happiness in all you do Andrea McCleary

  47. sandra towner May 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Dear Martha
    What can anyone say about the terrible struggles you’ve had in youre life? I must be about your age Martha but never had to put up with anything like you did,and my heart goes out to you.I hope you now have everything you need to lift your heart,I really do.You must understand how you have touched many,many folks lives,and you have given many folk strength,because of how a little girl coped with hell on earth.She can make the likes of me to laugh and cry.Oh Martha I hope your books have helped you,as much as they must have helped many folk to find the inner strength to carry on.
    I dearly wish I could put the kettle on and we could share a “sup” of tea.Youre friends are very lucky to know you Martha,and you have more friends that you will never know in person but,like me,who love you none the less.
    I dearly hope too that you have plenty good times with your children,how you ever learned to trust a man again shows that your heart is open to the good things that can happen in this life.
    I really hope too that Charlie and the other children came out the other side and have found peace and happiness.You were a child but a mother to them.
    I wish you all the best that life can give you all now.
    From Sandra . X

  48. Rachal July 6, 2010 at 2:34 am #

    Hi Martha,i have read ur books (2) and am looking 4ward 2 reading more..I long 2 find out that ur life became just as u wanted it to be. I also long 2 find out that you find charlie and help him through his life. IT pains me deeply what you both went though,as the reader i want to just come and get you and be the mammy you deserve. But as i write this,i was born in 1976 so it was long before my time.I do keep my head with the fact that you lived to tell your storey,so your life must have turned out in the end for you.As a mother myself now,where my kids want for nothing,I now feel bad for them if i yell or need 2 smack them. But i am sure they are loved and feel it.
    I so hope i can meet you one day so i can give you a big huge and just tell you am your friend,i would give you the true love that comes with real frindship.You would be my family.
    My up most regards to you, for just being you…

  49. ange August 4, 2010 at 5:29 pm #

    hi martha.i was just sitting here reading your third book!its people like you martha that give people like me a bit of strengh and encouragement! i pray that you are living a happy and peacefull life. never lose that wit you have!

  50. karina Flynn August 19, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    hey martha,Im real sorry that you had to endure all those years of neglect and misery, which no child should ever have to.Despite everything you had such a positive outlook even at the lowest points and what an inspiration you are to everyone.

    For such a young person what courage and strength you had its amazing how you kept going.I really hope that you and your brothers and sisters got reunited and are happy and safe!As for your ma I pity her and only wish she would have had half the courage you had to stand up to that bandy auld B******* and put you all first!

    Anyway Martha congratulations on the success of your books,ive read the first 3 books and they are just brill cant wait til sept for the next!Best wishes now and always X

  51. Leanne Webster November 27, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    Would someone please be able to post the sequence in which Martha’s books come. It has been a while since I read the first 2, but I am so happy to see she is still writing away. We love you Martha, God Bless, Leanne

  52. Chris April 9, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    Martha Long- what an amazing lady. I work in a pharmacy in a town in Western NSW Australia. I am 52 and my 21 year old niece introduced me to your story. I have bought all your books so far and when I finish reading them I pass them on to 2 other ladies that I work with and then they are returned to me to keep- I only buy true stories and I can’t get enough of your story. Even though much of it is very sad you have a way of rising above the bad times and getting on with life – you arouse every emotion that I have and I just admire you so much. The more you write the more I want and I just live in hope that one day I will know that you did have some happy “normal” times in your life. I to wonder about your other siblings and your mother, but mostly I wonder about you. I keep telling my work friends that we need to go to Ireland and meet you. I know that you were often lonely during your young life but I know that you should never be lonely again as you now have your own children and thousands of people who would love to be your friend. Please keep writing Martha- we have to know the rest of your story. Wishing you peace , love, happiness and success. Chris

  53. rose murphy February 25, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    rose from ireland i never read books until i was introduced to yours. i am a mother of 4 an i cant believe any mother could let her child go true what u went true. i cried all the way true ur books. i wanted to go back n time an cuddle u an give u the love u deserved. u are a wonderful woman an should b a saint now . love u martha

Leave a Reply

