‘Ma, I’m Gettin Meself a New Mammy’ to be Martha’s second book

25 Jun

A recent development means that we will now publish the direct follow up to Ma, He Sold Me For a Few Cigarettes, with Martha’s second book Ma, I’m Getting Meself A New Mammy, which picks up straight after the end of the first book.

Martha was unsure if she would be able to write this book but we are now rushing out its publication due to popular demand. Ma I’m Locked up in the Madhouse will be published at a later date. 

Click on the Books by Martha tab for more details on Ma, I’m Gettin Meself A New Mammy and other titles by Martha Long.

 

64 Responses to “‘Ma, I’m Gettin Meself a New Mammy’ to be Martha’s second book”

  1. belinda June 27, 2008 at 9:37 am #

    If the new book is anywhere near as good as the first i will not be able to put it down.When i finished it my first thought was i wonder how she went with her teenage years and how is charlie and the others.Just can’t wait.

  2. may July 1, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    i,m halfway through the book, ma he sold me for a few cigarettes, and oh my goodness i wish i could have held her in my arms and kept her safe, how a mother could have let these things happen to her babbies i will never know.i cried a lot, was very upset, and just when you think things might go well for them it all starts up again the beatings the abuse the starvation, the hopelessness of it all, i would certainly love to know how they got on in later years so i will be buying the books, also i must add she had some very funny things in the book, so i did laugh a lot at it, god bless them whatever happened to them i,m sure it couldn,t have been any worse than the life they had to put up with

    may

  3. hayley c July 3, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    I am so releved to see that there is a follow up to “Ma! He sold me for few cigarettes.” It has taken me almost 6 months to read this book catching a few precious minutes here and there between tea time, bath time before crashing to sleep after achoatic days work. It is also the first book I have picked up and read from cover to cover since having my daughter 3 years ago….. I am going to see if I can have a copy of the 2nd book delivered before the weekend as I cannot just let Martha go……

  4. Kelly Knowlson July 3, 2008 at 8:42 pm #

    ‘Ma! he sold me for a few Cigarettes’ is one of the most disturbing books I have ever read. Poor Martha, how could a child have lived a life like this? It seems strange that this kind of abuse only took place 50 years ago when my own mother was a child, it seems like another world to me. However, Martha’s tales made me both sad and made me laugh.

    As soon as I finished the book I had to look on the net to see if there was a follow up to this book and to see what a success Martha has made of her life. Also to find out what happens to her brothers and sisters and hopefully that Jackster and Sally get there just deserts. Can’t wait for the next book and hope that it is as well written as the first. Congratulations Martha.

  5. Lucy B July 4, 2008 at 10:24 am #

    Love the first book – just finished. CanNOT wait for the second one!

  6. freddie July 4, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    i cried and i laughed and i cried some more, you broke my heart but i was inspired by the courage of a little girl,i hope and pray you have left your demons and that evil b*****d behind you may your life be filled with nothing but happiness and his with nothing but raw pain.THANK YOU for sharing your story with us. XXX

  7. kirsty July 6, 2008 at 1:23 pm #

    After just finishing the first book i was left wondering what happened next, 2 be honest i was a tad dissapointed that i wouldnt find out. Now after finding out there is a sequel i cannot wait to read it. This is the first book i have read in ages and just could not put it down…

  8. Tanya July 15, 2008 at 1:15 am #

    hi well i just finished Ma, he sold me for a few cigarettes and when it end so suddendly i had to look it up to see if the was a seqeual coming out and im glad there is the only other book that its as enjoyeble and upsetting as this boook is ‘The boy called it’ cant wait for the seqeual that poor girl i felt so sorry for her…

  9. patricia mc quillan July 18, 2008 at 3:52 pm #

    martha i can t wait untill 04/09, to get the next book. i am nearly sorry i read the “ma he sold me for a few cigarettes”book so quickly. i have even phoned the publishers to see if could a copy before that date, but unfortunately not.i ll just have to wait. i am more looking to that than i am to christmas.please do you re best to get book three out too.

    thanks
    patricia mcquillan

  10. Anthea July 24, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    So glad to find out that there is another book coming out!! Couldn’t put the last book down and was bitterly dissappointed that we didn’t find out whether Jackser died a roarin death…. and whether all the children made it out alive. I found that the book touched my soul, the hardship and such poverty can’t even begin to be imagined. Well done Martha and thank you for sharing your story.

  11. Louise July 24, 2008 at 3:44 pm #

    Martha, Im a person who very rarely reads books, until I found your one, I couldnt put it down, you were so brave and so good for minding the kids, as a ma myself I couldnt understand why your ma let the bandy aul yoke do all he did to you and little Charlie, I felt your pain so many times, it was like a knife going through me. I hated that Jackser and your ma. It was a terrilbe thing that you had your chilhood taking away from you, I still see you running to the shops and been told dont be long. I wanted to take you away and mingd and look after you. I am so looking forward to reading your next one. Wishing you all the happiness life can bring you, you deserve it so much. What ever happened to Charlie? I would love to know he is happy now.

    Thanks again for sharing your story.

    Louise Allen

  12. Carol July 27, 2008 at 6:41 pm #

    This is one of the most horrific, gripping and brilliant books I have read since “Bridge across my sorrows” and to think it went on only 4 miles from where I grew up!! My heart broke at the visual of little Charlie wringing his hands and running after Martha and her Ma..and having to stay behind. I was almost afraid to read on.

    Martha you are a FANTASTIC person, I am in awe of you and what you have survived and can’t wait to read what happened next. I hope the world got kinder to you. Thank you for sharing your story so beautifully. You are in inspiration.

  13. Linda July 29, 2008 at 1:00 pm #

    I have just returned from holiday and started this book last week and read the final pages last night, I couldn’t put the book down. How I cried, I couldn’t stop thinking about you Martha, you are such a brave person and to share that time you had with others is very courageuos. I have just had to find out whether there was a sequel to ‘Ma, He Sold Me for a Few Cigarettes’ I wanted to know how you maneged through your teenage years and how poor Charlie turned out. Your Ma and Jacksa, I hope they got what was due to them – disgusting treatment.

  14. Diane August 1, 2008 at 11:20 am #

    I would just like to say i was unable to but the book down and like the other comments i have just finished reading the most moving and heartrendering story i have ever read. I can not wait to go and buy the follow up book as i need to find out what happened to Charlie and Martha when she had her education. As for her Ma and the monster she lived with i hope they got what they deserved. Going out to buy the follow up “Ma, Im getting meself a New Mammy” now i know its been published.

    Well done Martha

    Regards
    Diane.

  15. Lillian August 3, 2008 at 10:54 am #

    I just finished the first book today.

    Just as May said earlier, I just wanted to take Martha home, run her a nice bath, feed her and put her into a nice, warm soft clean little bed. How anyone can let this type of life be lived by someone so young, defenceless, helpless is impossible to think.

    There is something terribly wrong with our society in that…this was a story in the 50s….and nothing much has changed 60 years on. Kids are still living hopeless lives…

    Something must change. But how!!!!???!?!?!?!?!

    It is so frustrating!

    I cannot wait til the second book comes out as I am desperate to find out how Martha comes out of this life. I’m worried that the third book is about Martha being locked up in an institution – but who could blame her for being sick after all that she’s been through?

  16. Katrina August 3, 2008 at 5:46 pm #

    Rarely I am so engrossed in a book that I can actually feel myself in a house or shivering in the cold or running to the shops. What I cannot imagine is the pain and suffering you all went through. Like the others, I just had to look you up and see if there was any way of getting my questions answered – what happened when you went away and when you came out at 16, what happened to Jackser and your Ma (I use the term loosely) and most importantly, what happened to the rest of the chidren. I will most definitly be buying the next book and wish to thank you so very much for sharing such a terrible experience. It certainly makes me appreciate my life and my children. You truly are an inspiration.

  17. emma August 5, 2008 at 8:40 pm #

    wow what a story finished the book today and have to find out what happens to the author. amazingly graphic. thank you for sharing this very difficult story. i hope life has been good and cant wait for the next book

  18. Clarissa August 8, 2008 at 1:20 am #

    When I found “Ma, He Sold Me for a Few Cigarettes” it was sitting in the top of my boyfriend wardrobe and he was planning on selling it at a garage sale we were having. I’m so glad that I got it out and started to read it. I was obsessed with finding our more and more about Martha and what was going to happen. I was completely taken back by how much such a small child had to go through. I agree with you all, it was an amazing read and so inspiring. I cannot wait for her other book to come out. I was wondering if anyone has been able to find “Ma, I’m getting meself a New Mammy”, I’m from Australia and I have tried every book store and they only have record of “Ma, He Sold Me for a Few Cigarettes” and “Ma I’m Locked up in the Madhouse” coming out in September. I’m wondering if “getting meself a new mammy” is out yet??? I’m so eager to keep on reading about her and the other children. I hope someone can help me 🙂

    And a big congratulations to you Martha for getting through everything and being able to share your story and inspire people.

    Thanks

  19. administrator August 8, 2008 at 9:24 am #

    There are a few comments on here asking when Martha’s next book is. Just to clear up any confusion, MA, I’M GETTIN MESELF A NEW MAMMY is published in September this year MA, I’M LOCKED UP IN THE MADHOUSE, will be published next year.

  20. Lillian August 9, 2008 at 7:56 am #

    Martha,

    I find it hilarious that all your readers went to google your name within minutes of finishing the book – because all of us are worried about how life turned out for you!!!

    Unlike some of the others that couldn’t put the book down though…I did have to put the book down once, as I couldn’t read on anymore! It was getting so sad … I needed a break from reading it. I couldn’t for a second imagine you…growing up in that, with NO chance of ever getting away!

    I hope life has been kind to you in the later years….once you were able to take it into your own hands and make your own choices!

  21. Anne August 14, 2008 at 8:38 am #

    What a wonderful woman – for those of us who thought we had it hard when we didn’t get everything we wanted, you redefine the word “spirit”. Your courage in writing what must have brought back so many painful memories is amazing. Here’s hoping you have achieved peace and a wonderful life with those you love.

  22. yvonne kavanagh August 19, 2008 at 4:07 pm #

    OH MY GOD, this had a lot of similarities to my life growing up in glasgow in a family of 8!!

    I could not put this book down and finished it in 2 days!! quickest ever, i have another book and i cant get past the first page!!

    I cannot wait to find out what happens to Martha and the childre, please fasttrack the sequel!! PLEASE!!

    It inspires me to get my own life story started, but i dont know where to start!!

    Godbless you and the childre Martha, Godbless you xx

  23. yvonne kavanagh August 19, 2008 at 4:08 pm #

    OH Yes and i went straight onto google for the next book, i cant wait!!

  24. yvonne kavanagh August 19, 2008 at 4:16 pm #

    HURRY UP WITH THE NEXT ONE I DONT THINK I CAN WAIT UNTIL SEPTEMBER I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS TO MARTHA AND IF SHE BATTERS ANY BLACKGUARDIAN MEN TRYING TO CONTROL HER. AND I HOPE THA JACKSER CAME TO A DISTURBING END AND MEETS WITH THE DEVIL!!

  25. Mary Isaac August 27, 2008 at 7:10 pm #

    This was one of the most touching and moving books I’ve read. There were moments I couldn’t bear to read on but the strength and determination of Martha kept me hooked. I needed to know that in the end she would ok and live the life she wanted.

    God bless you and thank you for sharing your story with us.

  26. Marion Galbraith August 28, 2008 at 6:54 am #

    Thank you Martha for your courage and generosity in sharing such a painful journey. I hope and pray you have arrived at a place of peace and healing. And that you have lots of love and joy in your life. I met you a few times as children in Finglas. I felt your uniqueness and strength even way back then.

    I am looking forward to reading your following books.

    Much Love

    Marion.

  27. Jill August 29, 2008 at 11:57 am #

    How does someone survive a start in life like that? I wonder if Charlie has the strength to write about what happened to him when he was left there alone? I can not wait to read the next book.

  28. Dawn August 29, 2008 at 5:39 pm #

    Martha

    What a fantastic,sad,funny and unbelievable story. What an amazing little girl she was. I was previlaged to read her story and made me realise what a lucky childhood I had.

    As I said, I cryed and laughed and was astonished to think this life story is reality for some unfortunate kids and how they are let down so badly by our country, then and now.

    I am so looking forward to reading how that strong, courageous little girl got on when she finaly got her chance to show the world her amazing strenght and courage.

    Thank you Martha for sharing your story and I am so happy the next chapter in your life is on the way. xxx

  29. Lynaire August 31, 2008 at 10:44 am #

    I have just finished Ma, He sold me for a few cigarettes.

    I came looking to see if I can find out what has happened to Martha being a strong individual who always knew she was better than what HE wanted her to believe.

    I hope Charlie is doing well and is just as strong as her to get out and do as well.

    I will have the next book as soon as it hits the book shops in New Zealand.

  30. sandra convery September 6, 2008 at 6:58 pm #

    martha my heart has gone out to you i would love to get my hands on that b****x n’ swing for him. i hope there was some kind of justice for you in latter years, you are a very strong woman sharing your heart ache wit us.i am excited but also afraid to read ma im gettin myself a new mammy. i feel like if i dont read it no more harm will come to you, i can finish the story in my head that on going to the nuns was the end of your troubles!!. sandra convery dublin 15

  31. Fiona Doyle September 7, 2008 at 10:41 am #

    Dear Martha

    Your book is the most disturing I have ever read. I think it must be the worst account of child abuse ever put down on paper! I hope your mother is still alive to read it as I can’t understand how any mother could turn such a blind eye to her childrens suffering? There were parts of the book I could hardly bare to read and I was so hoping you would stay with the lovely Flo in England and she would look after you. I knew there must be a sequel after reading the end of Ma he sold me for a few cigarettes. I hope you weren’t sent to a horrible place because I don’t know how you could handle anymore abuse! If the Judge sent you to one of those terrible industrial schools he deserved to be shot!! I hope you got a good education and came back to at least take Charlie with you and that you reported Jackester to the authorities? I also hope he is alive to read your book although I’m sure the disgusting pig can’t read!! I hope you became a nurse, met a lovely kind man and had kids of your own to look after. I think anyone who reads your book will fall in love with you and would have loved to have looked after a precious little girl like you.

    I will look on amazon for your second book now and I can’t wait for your 3rd book to find out how you got on in the school you were sent to.

    You are an amazing person Martha. I hope your life is very happy now.

    Fiona Doyle, Gorey Co. Wexford & Geneva, Switzerlan

  32. Majella Murray September 7, 2008 at 1:18 pm #

    hi
    like all of you i too could not put down the first book and think martha is a truly remarkable woman to have lived to tell the tale, however i went into two bookstores in my town on sept 4th dying to get my hands on the 2nd book but it hadnt come in yet, hopefully it will be in this coming week just wondered if anyone had got it yet??

  33. susan clarke September 8, 2008 at 7:42 pm #

    thankyou so much for sharing your life with us i for one feel truly blest for the home life i have had. I dont think i’d of survived the life you were forced to live. If only the young ones of today could understand how lucky they are with the things they have.
    I cant wait to read the next book you wonderfull woman

  34. Eileen September 12, 2008 at 2:39 pm #

    What can I say – it’s all been said before dozens of times. Ma, he sold me for a few cigarettes was passed to me by a friend, I read a few pages trying to get into the Irish brogue; then put the book back down to wait 2 weeks for my holiday. I sat by the pool and was riveted, like everyone else I laughed and cried a lot and shouted at Martha through the pages. I wanted to kick jacksers head in. I saw bits of me in the book, and always thought I had a bad upbringing, (like Martha ending up in a home etc at the age of 12) but not anymore. I finished the book and felt very emotional, happy for Martha that at last she was safe from jackser but sad thinking about poor little Charlie. I just wanted to get home and onto the internet to find out if there was anything anywhere about Martha, I just wanted to know what happened to her in the convent and after she left there, where she went, what she did. I’m absolutely thrilled to find that there are sequals and can’t wait to get the next installment. I’ve just this minute read the interview in Prima magazine and once again ended up crying my eyes out. What a truly remarkable person Martha was as a child and even moreso as an adult. I just want to know know more and more about her.
    Many Blessing Martha and lots of love to you and your family xx

  35. Farzana September 17, 2008 at 1:36 pm #

    Hi Martha

    having finished “ma ye sold me for a few cigarettes” first thing i did was to google your name. I’m glad to know your next book is being released this month I will be buying that hopfully very soon.
    Well thank you for sharing your story, it made me laugh, cry and feel for you and Charlie.

    Well done for plucking the courage and telling everone what youve been through. Hope your now living happy life and not still haunted by your past memories.

    Farzana

  36. Carole September 19, 2008 at 1:27 pm #

    The minute I closed the last page of Ma He Sold Me I had to google to see if there was going to be a sequal. I can’t remember when I was last so moved by a book.

  37. Donna Hastie September 21, 2008 at 2:09 pm #

    Dear Martha, just finished ma i’m getting a new mammy. I read it in 2 days like your other book.
    What a time you had but a bit better than with the bandy aul bastard.
    You are a true inspiration and a lady with lots of guts and determination. Can’t wait to read on and see how your life becomes your own and if you see your brothers and sisters again.

    Looking forward to another book best wishes and thankyou for telling us your life

    Regards Donna

  38. paula rogerson September 21, 2008 at 8:16 pm #

    i have just read the second book ma im getting meself a new mammy like the first one you are gripped i cudnt put it down i laughed and cried what an amazing child she was i wish i could of been there for martha i would of helped her at her darkest times and given her all the love and cuddles a child deserves the only thing is the bandy bastard is still alive in this book so come on marth we want the sequal to this i cant wait lots of love paula x x

  39. BERNIE GLOVE September 29, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    THEY WERE 2 OF THE FINEST AND SADDEST BOOKS I HAVE READ IN A WHILE.GOD IF I HAD THE JACKSER FELLOW WHAT A ROTTEN BASTERED. WELL DONE TO YOU FOR SHARING WITH US YOUR HORRIFIC CHILDHOOD YOU ARE A GREAT INSPIRATION TO EVERYBODY MAY GOD BLESS YOU AND YOUR FAMILY.

  40. BERNIE GLOVE September 29, 2008 at 2:42 pm #

    I STILL FEEL THE PAIN FOR MARTHA, CHARLIE AND ALL HER BROTHERS AND SISTERS

  41. Alexander Bignell October 1, 2008 at 2:55 pm #

    Dear Martha,

    I cannot thank you enough for having the courage to write this harrowing story of your life with Jackser (who quite frankly, as a father myself to three girls, I would like to have 10 minutes in a sound proof room with) and your ‘ma’ (and one uses that term in the loosest sense).
    It is quite possibly the most moving book I have ever had the pleasure and sadness to read. I wonder what ever happened to James? I hope, beyond hope that Charlie and the other children are alive and living with people who love and care for them as much as I care for my little girls and one day, perhaps Charlie will be able to write a story from his point of view of this horrendous part of his life.
    Straight after reading this book I have ordered the second book, ‘ma, I’m getting myself a new mammy’ and cannot wait to see how the teenage years work out for the lovely Martha and her strong spirit.
    Godspeed
    x

  42. Vanessa October 3, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    OMG!!! i have just finished reading ‘Ma, He Sold Me For a Few Cigarettes’, i read it in four Days, at times i felt like i couldnt keep reading it, talk about emotions, stayin up until 2-3am. Martha, i just wanted to bring you and Charlie here, in my home giving you food, warmth and love. I felt i was with you the whole way, i cried with you, for you, my feet hurt, and i sat there shievering with you. I’d hoped that bastard would choke on his cigarettes. I was disappointed when i finished the book, not knowing how your life progressed, as well as Charlie’s. I had to google you and then i found out this minute that you have released a new book, i’ll be getting up early in the morning and going searching for it.
    You are such an insperation to so many, the things that you went through and to have survived, i would have jumped of the balcony, but no you kept going looking after Charlie and the rest of your siblings as well as your Ma, i hope that some bad happened to them, Jackser went under a lorry or something. To see you have writtern the books shows that you have grown into somebody, just like ‘James’ told you, you made it through it all, you beat the lot of those horrible bastards over there. I could just keep on writing here to you Martha,you have made me realise a lot of things, i woke my children up so many times durin the last four nights just to hold them, kiss them and tell them i love them,(now my 6month old thinks 12am is playtime) but until i meet you again in your next book, Take care and thank you, Martha xx

  43. Jasper Fae Pollok October 10, 2008 at 2:48 pm #

    Yvonne Kavanagh

    I am trying to find your brother Arthur Greer (ABBO) … this is Jasper from Glasgow… please contact me through the Friends Reunited site (Lourdes section 1979 or 1980) … I have a page on that site… as I can’t leave an email address here in this message…

    Be great if you see this… here’s hoping… 20 years is too long.

    Jasper

  44. Jade October 13, 2008 at 5:50 am #

    That was one of the best books i have read. It was so upsetting in most places but i couldnt put the book down and had to find out what happend.
    I cant wait for Ma, Im getting meself a new mammy.
    Please let me no when it will be available in New zealand? Im dying to get into it.
    Thank you for telling us all about your life.
    Take care, Jade

  45. lynda oconnor November 13, 2008 at 11:11 pm #

    oh my god martha you are just brilliant.you have ginen me hours of pleasure.i have read both your books ma he sold me for a few cigaretts and ma im gettin meself a new mammy.i live in perth western australia and my ma sent me your first book and was then left woundering what the hell happened to you after that ,and then just last week im in kmart and what did i see only the second book.i nearly danced, i just finished it and it was brilliiant.please say that there is going to be another cause now i want to know what happened to you after you left the convent.all my friends here have read the first one and now they will read the second one, you really showed all those people that you are more than brilliant. i dont know you martha but im proud of you ,you are probably the strongest funniest most inspiring person i know of ,good luck to you martha i wish you all the best and i really do hope that jackser did die roaring.best wishes and please write one more,lynda oconnor.

  46. Julia November 14, 2008 at 9:36 am #

    Heart wrenching,tragic and yet so funny in places my heart goes out to you Martha.Hope you found some happiness in your life.

    Need to know what happened to Charlie and the rest of your siblings hope they too found happiness after such a harrowing start.

    Having trouble tracking down the second book in Australia will have to send to the UK for it. Have to read it need to know what happened to you

  47. Kathleen Canacoatt November 23, 2008 at 7:30 pm #

    I stayed up till the early hours to finish your first book.My first thought was, I want to know if there was a follow-on book and to find out what happened to Martha and her siblings. I got straight onto the web and found out that there is a second book out now and a third in the pipeline. I cannot wait to start reading. The courage and strength you showed as a young child was just wonderful and my heart went out to that little girl who felt so alone.

    Many thanks for allowing us into your life.

    Kathy

  48. Sandra November 28, 2008 at 3:41 pm #

    Having read this book it has helped me to talk about stuff in my own child hood,praise to martha long for her courageous attitude and great sense of humour towards the life she had.
    I look at my eight year old daughter and could never imagine putting her through what
    Martha went through.. S.B Xx

  49. Rosemary December 28, 2008 at 3:11 am #

    I just could not put this book down. I grew up in the 1050’s thought I had it bad until I read this. Although we were rather poor I can always thank God I had a wonderful mum and dad that loved us and protected all their kids and gave us everything they could. Things were not good all the time but I know I was loved this book did stir up memories of my own sad childhood but Martha it was nothing compaired to what you endured how you did I’ll never know! God must have had great plans for you!
    Rosemary

  50. Michelle January 19, 2009 at 2:35 pm #

    This is a stunning book, well written touches raw emotions.
    I am desparte to find out what happened to Charlie.
    The fact martha can write with such a lovely humour is inspiring.
    I look forward to reading the sequel very much:)

  51. maria January 21, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    Just finished reading both books could not put them down once i started to read. You must have such a had such a hard time i am your age and i feel so grateful that i had a goood childhood. I hope you have come out of all that suffering a brilliant mother to your children and have had a good life to make up for the heartache which never really leaves. Can not wait for your next book ma i’m locked up in the madhouse which will also be sad i’m sure. Want to know who Charlie and the other children got on with their lives, no mother should treat or let people treat you and the other children the way she did. mothers are there to protect. Godbless you and thanks for sharing your story.

    Mariax

  52. rebecca January 28, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    Dear Martha,
    I would just like to thank-you so much for having the courage to relive your experiences, to put them down on paper and to share it with strangers (us). You have amazing courage.
    You have truely been an inspiration to me, i think that in todays world we sometimes (well, maybe alot of the time) take things for granted,our loved ones, our circumstances, we loose sight of what we have in life, people now just tend to want, want, want, and often people feel so hard done by, your experiences put life for me into a totally different perspective. Iv realised how much i love my life, and sadly i have also realised that there are still children in this world suffering as you and your siblings did.
    After reading “Ma, he sold me for a few cigarettes”, I had to (as many others had to) google you!! to find out whether there was a follow up book and how your life has progressed.
    I am glad to know that there is indeed a follow up book,that you continue to have courage to relive and share your experiences and that obviously you still have a steely determination to succeed and make the most from life, that you portrayed so well in “Ma, he sold me for a few cigarettes”
    You are a truely talented writer
    I hope you found happiness and peace in your life.
    Thank-you again

  53. Natalie d February 7, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    Martha because of u no housework was dne 4 a week ive lost the run of myself and my head has been buried in ur book 24/7:):), u r an inspiration 2 every 1 ur so brave, not many could endure the pain and sadness you were put through,ive jus finished Ma, he sold me for a few cigarettes, and am so so happy 2 hear u hav a second book, and b4 i read it i jus know you’ve made it big because of ur strengh, and determination, my heart goes out 2 u and ur brothers and siters, I hav been deciding 4 a while wot i want 2 do and you hav inspired me 2 go back 2 college and be come a social worker and 4 this i thank u wit all my heart, and by reading all these mgs’s every1 esle seemed 2 hav enjoyed ur ok as much as i did. THANK YOU X X X X X

  54. babs February 9, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    marthe read your book heart rendering .Like others i thought my childhood was poor but i was in heaven compared to you .Our mam did everything she could for us .
    Reading the book i had to keep checking the year .How could anyone live in those conditions in the 50/s more like 1850 .My dad died when i was 7 and mum had very little but she looked after us .You pootr lass and Charlie im hoping he survived but in my heart dont know if he could .bless you for sharing this it may have helped to lay the deons at rest babs

  55. Anna Pearce March 22, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    Dear Martha
    My boss at work told me that she had just read a book that would probably interest me. Firstly, I live in Sydney Australia. But I’m from Ballyfermot, so I suppose being from Ireland was enough reason for her to give me this book to read. Ma, he sold me for a few cigarettes! The title sent shivers through me. i just didn’t want to put the book down. I didn’t want this child to have this life. I felt ashamed that she suffered so badly. The language was brilliant. It made me slot right back to my roots in Ballyer. However I will never forget this book. Since fisishing the second book tonight, I am totally compelled to tell you Martha that I want to send you a hug for every time that you were wronged, I want to cram the biggest hug into cyberspace and send it to you. You are so brave and the child within you must be very happy now that finally she is loved. Thankyou so much for writing your story. If you ever get the chance to come to Australia, please contact me as I would love nothing more than to hug you in person. Lots and lots of love Anna

  56. peta w March 26, 2009 at 5:28 am #

    i just finished reading the book “ma, he sold me for a few cigaretts”, and the hole time i was reading it all i could think about was how martha is today. she seems to be a wonderful person with many hopes and dreams. i fell in love martha in the first chapter and i cant wait to read the next book! i cryed so many time reading this book, i just wanted to cuddle her with all my might and tell her it would be okay. it hurts me to think that a mother ,so young, can treat her children like that and lead them to abuse, it unbeleiveable that some can be so cruel. if i could just hold martha and let her no that people do belive in her and love her just as much as their own children. i just cant wait to read the next book i am soo enspired by her faith in this world. i am only 17 and i have a 4month baby of my own and there is nothing i wouldnt do for her, i love her sooo much and nothing can stop that, if only marthas mum could that to her!
    i love you martha and we all belive in you
    peta xoxox

    • reality July 31, 2009 at 2:10 am #

      just dont let your kid end up like her

  57. Shona May 7, 2009 at 10:58 pm #

    Hi people, I have been searching for information for Martha’s 3rd book and have finally found a release date. Its not until the 03/09/09 (see attached link)

    http://www.randomhouse.co.uk/catalog/author.htm?authorID=56677

    I absolutely cannot wait to find out the next chapter in Martha’s life. I could not put either of the first 2 books down and greatly anticipate the arrival of the 3rd.

    Martha I hope your well and life is treating you gud! Would love to know how many books there are going to be published (ano I havent even read the 3rd yet) as I am so captured by your story and would love to know about Charlie and how you changed your life around.

    Shona

  58. reality July 31, 2009 at 2:07 am #

    Your story made me vomit…it saddens me deeply to think a world like this exists..and it does..even today.

  59. Ruth September 12, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    Dear Martha,
    Your “Ma he sold me…” was one of the finest novels I have ever read. I was not aware that there was a sequel. I’m hoping to get it through Amazon.com

    I think the courage it took to get through a childhood of that is deserving of worldwide acclaim and applause. I spent 7 months in Dublin in 1981 and found it the coldest place in the world. Even dressed in many layers I constantly felt the cold and damp – my heart goes out to a little girl who had to endure that kind of weather without proper clothing or a full belly.

    How a mother could allow her little girl to go through such hell is beyond understanding. She deserves a fate worse than death. I wonder if she ever had any feelings, she appears to be severely lacking in the normal maternal department and would have done better to leave her little girl at the orphanage. May she be cursed.

    Can’t wait to get the sequels. Thanks for sharing with your adoring fans. Will never forget your story.

  60. sheena September 13, 2009 at 3:15 am #

    Martha,
    I never read books, i prefer movies as i takesto long to read. this is the first book i have actually bought in many years if ever!! i could not put it down, no not even to go to sleep and i have got right onto to google you because i need to know more!!
    I am so sorry that you never had a childhood, you was just a baby and left to fend for yourself and that of your family.
    James was right, you have courage and thank god you did as you may not have survived any of it.
    I wanted to shout at you through the pages and say, hide the money dont give it to your Ma or do this do that. It was really disturbing.
    I am going to buy the next 2 books now and cant wait to get stuck into them.
    Here’s hoping life is treating you great now and all your sisters and brothers.If there is any justice in this world those that did you wrong will have a hell of a life!
    hugs & kissess to you martha.

  61. sandra lifely October 22, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    hi i have just finished reading martha long 3rd book and i would like to know where i can buy the 4th ma i,m locked up in the mad house. i have enjoyed her books tremendously and cannot wait for the next i habve searched the through and through so please help with this inquiry thanking you sanrda

  62. gaynor taylor October 27, 2009 at 11:40 pm #

    thank you martha for the courage it must have taken to write your first book.it will stay with me forever .will buy the rest of books you write too.may god bless you .i hope you now have a happy life and live in peace.with love,and thank you again for opening my eyes.gaynor.x

  63. charlotte April 14, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    im now reading the third book, and every time that i pick them up i just can not put them down they are the best books i have ever read. im just sorry that you had to go thought what you wrote to make such spellbounding books that have you addicted from the first word. i hope that you are at peace now with your past and i will look forward to any other future books that you release.

    from charlotte

Leave a Reply

